Kentucky Housewarming Partay

Mom and I had a blast in horse country.  We went to my friends John and Flora Platt’s house warming party in Versailles, Kentucky.  I was pronouncing it Versailles like the French do, but its really pronounced by the locals like this: Ver Sails.

This is John and Flora, photo taken by Waddy Platt

Well, I met John Platt about a year ago in Perry, Georgia at Bass and Grass and he got in touch with me when I put it out on Facebook that I was going on a tour and if anybody wanted a house party to contact me.    So John contacted me and asked me if I wanted to do a housewarming party and it worked out swimmingly for my routing.

Photo by Waddy Platt

John and Flora’s house was built in the 1800’s and it burned down in July of 2008 when the family was on vacation.  John told us that it was an electrical fire.  There was another family that was staying at their house at the time with 5 girls.   There was an idiot dog that apparently everybody hated that barked and woke the family up to alert them to get out of harm’s way.  Good sweet dog.  When the Platt’s discovered that their house burned down, they decide to stay on vacation for a little longer.

The Platt's new house, photo by John Platt

So, now the Platt’s have rebuilt their new home on their 200 acre family farm and it is just beautiful.  We had a pot luck dinner and then I entertained and did my music thang and then we had some other guest musicians sit in and share their talent.  Eliza, one of the Platt’s daughter got up on the mike and sang so beautiful.  Eliza sang Danny Boy three times and each time she sang it, it got better.  Also, her friends joined her and sang the Star Spangled Banner.  In addition, we had another viola fiddler which was awesome.  All the girls were loving the microphone.

At the party there was some Bourbon samplings going on from our buddy Eric.  That was an education for sure.  I am not a big fan of Bourbon, but it was nice to try it.  It tasted like vanilla.  Eric is an ambassador of Maker’s Mark and he recently spent 2000 dollars on his bourbon collection.  He is serious.

The next morning we woke up and had coffee, english muffins and some fun laughs.  John’s twin brother Waddy is hilarious.  He is a gadget king and he was enlightening me on some cool computer stuff.  I talked him into getting Hipstamatic.  Also, I played some fiddle with Flora.  She is taking lessons and we just jammed a couple.

Jammin fiddles with FLora

waddy's photo

So, now I am in Topeka, Kansas  after a 10 hour drive.  There was a bit of confusion of where to eat and where to stay, but at least we are safe and sound for the evening.

Mom and I leaving the Platts, photo by Waddy Platt

Colorado bound tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Kentucky Housewarming Partay

  1. You should come visit Maker’s Mark Distillery, just outside Lebanon, Ky., and take the free tour. During the Heart of Kentucky Holiday Festival Dec. 4 is a particularly great time. You should also take the free tour of Kentucky Cooperage (bourbon barrel-making factory) right on Main Street! It’s terrific. Learn more at http://www.VisitLebanonKy.com.

Leave a Reply

