Eating Raw on the Coldest Night of the Year

It is definitely the coldest night of the year so far and I just experimented with a summery new raw food recipe.  For the last couple of weeks, or make that years I have been researching the raw foods movement and I am so moved and inspired.  There are millions of recipes and cool websites  out there on raw foods it is so amazing.  I know that eating more live sun foods and more raw uncooked foods is healthier because the enzymes and nutrients stay in tack to nourish your body. But I just can’t break free from my comfort foods and cooked meals.  It is really tough, so I am just not beating myself over it and I decided to just ease my way into eating more raw fruits and veggies into my daily life

Tonite, I possibly made the best salad I have ever had.  I cannot wait to make it for my friends and family.  It is called a Kale and Avocado Salad.  Yummy.  This evening is the first time I have had kale uncooked.  It rocks my face off.  I for sure thought it was going to be bitter and tough, but it was not. 

This is how I prepared it.  I cut the freshly cleaned kale into tiny bite size pieces.  Then with my clean hands I massaged a dash of sea salt and a little bit of olive oil into the kale leaves.  Then I cut a ripe avocado and smeared half of it into the salad.  To top it off I cut scallions in there and squeezed a half of a lemon into the salad.  This prep time took me all of 5 minutes.  When I cook a hot meal it takes me way longer.  The taste was amazing.  For a backup plan I pulled out a frozen vegetarian pizza to bake just in case I got hungry but I instantly put it back in the freezer.  I felt fully satisfied and energized and satiated from my kale salad.  So that is it.  My first trial of eating a raw food meal and I did it on the coldest day of the year.  Pretty cool, eh??  I can’t wait to try out more recipes and incorporate more raw foods into my life.  Also growing kale in my backyard would be kinda cool. 

This is a video of raw foods coach Karen Knowler, where she shows you step by step on how to make a kale and avocado salad.….. She has such a cute British accent and she is in her kitchen making this awesome recipe. 


 

That’s it for now.  Will keep you posted on my raw foods groove…..

5 thoughts on “Eating Raw on the Coldest Night of the Year

  1. If you fall off the veggie wagon for comfort food, just brush yourself off and get back on it, if you want to be a vegan, just do it. However, Jesus said, that those who refuse to eat meat, out of fear that it will harm them, are weak in the faith, because it’s what’s in the mind & heart, not what’s in the stomach that makes one healthy and whole. Besides, you could follow everyone’s advice until the cows come home, and still step out in front of a bus. So, eat more ice cream, swim more rivers, climb more mountains, go barefoot more often (perhaps, not the coldest day of the year), but, life must be LIVED as we going along, that means no regrets! Check out this link if you dare, http://www.thesecret.tv

  2. If you fall off the vegan wagon for comfort food, just brush yourself off and get back on it, if you want to be a vegan, just do it. However, Jesus said, that those who refuse to eat meat out of the fear that it will harm them, are weak in the faith. It’s what’s in the spirit & mind that makes one healthy and whole, not what’s in the stomach. You could follow everyone’s advice until the cows come home, and still step out in front of a bus. Life must be LIVED as we go along, so eat more ice cream, swim more rivers, climb more mountains, go barefoot more often (perhaps, not the coldest day of the year), LAUGH more, cry less, LIFE must be lived as we go along, that means, no regrets! Check out this link if you dare http://www.thesecret.tv

  3. Heya Caroline, when you get back from Negril you need to tell me all about it over lunch. My treat! It would be great to see you and hear about your latest adventures.

    Sorry I didn’t see you at this year’s PopAsheville – we did have a blast last year on the LaZoom.

Leave a Reply

