Spiders and Feather Beds

m_6270325dfb5448cba16c642a09fd44e5

My closet where the huge feather bed usually lives.

The colder it gets outside the more I hibernate and stay cozy up in my lair.  This weeks temperatures have been dropping in the teens and I have been freezin’ my butt off in my bed.  I dragged my feather bed out of the closet and thank goodness I did because it was taking up way too much space in there.  I decided to place this heavy duck bed on top of all my other covers because that is what the people from the North do to keep warm.  My Aunt Marcy made me privy to this when I stayed at her house in Ohio.  Southerners usually make it a mattress style thing, but I am not a Big fan of those goose feathers poking me in the middle of the night.  Speaking of things poking me in the middle of the night,  I was lying in my bed half way between the dream state and reality when I saw a huge spider come from the ceiling dangling from its web.  I was so startled and jumped out from under my heavy feather bed onto the floor.  I turned the lights on and moved my bed and could not find the spider anywhere.  It was all an illusion, but it really felt real.   So I told my roommate, Audrey about it and we looked up the symbolism of Spiders.  I am going to copy and paste the information here because I think it is fascinating and I need to apply this symbolism to my life path right now.  By the way I am not the hugest fan of spiders but I will grow to like them especially when one just visited me in my dream world.  Pretty cool!!!!

spider_-_cartoon_61

I chose a cartoon spider because they are so cute for my blog

“Spiders are very delicate creatures that play an important role in the myths and lore of many peoples as the teacher of balance between the past and future, the physical and spiritual.”

“To the Native Americans, Spider is Grandmother, the link to the past and future. In India it’s associated with Maya, the weaver of illusions.”

“With its gentle strength, Spider spins together the threads of life with intricate webs.”

dsc05170

Over and out until the next blog... Love, Caroline

“Spider knows that the past affects the future and vise versa. It calls us to make use of our creativity and weave our dreams into our destiny.”

4 thoughts on “Spiders and Feather Beds

  1. I used to hate spiders until I had a particularly shocking incident with one and took the time to look up a very similar definition. Now I look forward to orb weavers in the fall.

    Keep those creative juices flowing!

    p.s. I also read somewhere that it is believed that grandma spider gave written language to humans by drawing signs in her web like in Charlotte’s Web.

  2. I was always stuck in the conundrum created by one of the original Who songs: BORIS the SPIDER. I like it a great deal, but why did he choose to kill it so egregiously?

    Iktomi, the Lakota (and Nakota/Dakota) spider trickster, is full of great lessons for all of us; some not so fun and others much needed.

Leave a Reply

