Beets Can’t Be Beat!!!!

Well it officially feels like Fall to me.  I had to put another layer of bed clothes on my bed just to keep warm last night.  This season, I have made a vow to do new things and get out of my ruts.  For instance, walk a different way to the grocery store, emcee a festival for the first time, start a new blog and learn to love beets.   When I was a tiny Caroline during Thanksgiving family times, I was served beets. They were from a can and they had little ring indention marks on them and they were cut into perfect size circles.  As a child I avoided them like the plague.  The plated beets looked like a dark magenta jelly water weenie.  It just looked sort of nasty to me.  So anyway, that is my past.  

While on the road to Charleston, South Carolina for a Snake Oil gig, I was talking to my girlfriend Melanie, and she was telling me about how she grates raw beets into a salad.  When I returned home from that tour, I started to do that suggestion and to my surprise I found it simply scrumptious.  As an adult I NOW DIG BEETS!!!!!!   I love them steamed, baked or raw.  Delicious.  So, I am really excited about it!!!!!

 

It seems like I am not the only one who digs beets.  Tom Robbins, practically writes a whole novel about beets in his book, “Jitterbug Perfume.”   “The beet is the most intense of vegetables. The radish, admittedly, is more feverish, but the fire of the radish is a cold fire, the fire of discontent, not of passion. Tomatoes are lusty enough, yet there runs through tomatoes an undercurrent of frivolity. Beets are deadly serious.”-Tom Robbins, author.

Well I guess I got to go beat it.  I am gonna make a salad with shredded raw beets and then I am off to the Rocket Club tonite in West Asheville to dance to a Big Band.

If anybody has yummy ideas or recipes or comments about beets, feel free to comment back.

Cheers.

4 thoughts on “Beets Can’t Be Beat!!!!

  1. I love a Dark magenta Jelly Water Weenie on a Plate! You are right, that does not sound delicious. I once did enjoy a delicious Beet Meal in Brooklyn, NY with Andy Pond and Emil Nomel (from the North). We had beets and borscht, with Cabbage Raviolli!

  2. It was only after reading Jitterbug Perfume I became curious about the beet. Until then I only knew that gelatinous blob stuff. I can’t say I’ve become a beet fanatic, but I’ve met a few beets I like.

    I hope the dancing is fun. I still may make a break tomorrow for Tressa’s jazz jam.

  3. i too, love to eats beets now!

    Beets.
    Dont hate ’em,
    grate ’em…
    plate ’em…
    masticulate ’em!!!!

    i love you c-po!
    love, geo

Leave a Reply

